Selamat datang!

Hello! I made it safely Sunday morning to the Malaysian city of Kuching, on the island of Borneo. Let me give you a rundown – Borneo by my numbers!

One full moon rise over Mount Santubong.

Somehow I warranted two large adjoining rooms, each with a spacious balcony overlooking the Pacific and the jungle, and three beds (2 queens, currently being used as closet space, and a king) – I need four or five friends to share this with!

Number of times I ate a noodle dish between leaving LA on Friday and arriving Sunday: six

There are seven peoples that live around Kuching: the Bidayuh, Iban, Penan, Orang Ulu, Melanau, Malay and Chinese. At the Sarawak Cultural Center, I saw traditional dances, long houses, and I tried my hand (or mouth) at the blow dart gun. I’m pretty good…

Eight geckos have been running around my patios and walls (and many more all over!), eating my mosquitos. These little guys, called chicha locally, make little chirps and are good luck, but I can’t help thinking, “What do you call a fried gecko?” Chicharones!

Nine has become my bedtime here, so I can get up early for jungle trekking (proboscis monkeys!). I’ll write more on that next time….
20130724-204804.jpg

2 thoughts on “Selamat datang!

  1. So awesome!! Love it all and so excited to hear more about your adventures. Enjoy those hikes — dance, monkey, dance!

Leave a Reply

